Review of the L’oreal Elvive Extraordinary Oil Shampoo /Conditioner /Oil-replacement

Fotor_14508578693226

As you would have figured out from my blog name, I have a very thick mane of curly hair.   It’s well behaved most of the time, but at times (specially during the summer months) it can get so huge and frizzy, I scare little children 🙂

But I do love my curls so I’ve never chemically straightened it.  But I do colour it every 3-4 months because I have quite a bit of gray.  As I’ve said my hair is very thick, porous and greedy for moisture.  The desalinated tap water combined with the extremely hot weather dries out my hair even more.  So finding a good moisturising shampoo/conditioner duo plus a leave-on conditioner is absolutely essential.

I have quite a few favorites and this collection from L’Oréal is one of them.  Made from 6 flower oils, this range is specially designed to provide nourishment to dry and dehydrated hair (there are 2 sets of products within the range – one for normal to dry hair and the other for very dry hair).  I have used both types and don’t see a huge difference other than the clear formula of the normal hair shampoo (the one for dry hair has a thicker, creamier formula).

 

The whole range has a light floral scent that’s very pleasant. Both the shampoo and the conditioner rinses quickly and leaves my hair smooth and moisturised.   My hair needs copious amounts of conditioner and with this conditioner I find that I need to use less than usual.   And though it is oil based, it won’t leave any oily residue in your hair or scalp.

Fotor_145388665506130

To me, the hero of this range is the leave-on conditioner (it’s marketed here as an Oil Replacement, as it’s traditional in Middle Eastern countries to use a hair oil for that extra bit of conditioning ).  It’s a thick, golden coloured cream that can be used either as a leave in treatment or as a pre-wash conditioner.  I apply this cream to my damp hair,after washing it and it smooths my frizz and gives me defined curls.  I also apply it daily to my dry hair to activate my drooping curls.  This might not suit you if you have oily hair so I suggest to test it out before buying.

 

The range also includes a deep conditioner, a dry oil and a hair cream (which I haven’t used so I am not sure if it’s a lighter version of the Oil Replacement).  The dry oil is excellent, if you are looking for something that’s lighter than a leave on cream.  It’s quickly absorbed and leaves behind no greasy residue.

All in all, I love this range and recommend them to anyone who is looking for a good hair care range at an affordable price ( the shampoo/conditioner/Oil Replacement costs around AED20 and the other products are all below AED40).

Have you tried the L’oreal Elvive Extraordinary Oil range ?

Thank you so much for reading and have a great week ahead !

 

Related information

L’oreal Elvive hair care products are available from all leading supermarkets in the Middle East.

To know more about these products check the L’oreal Middle East website

Follow L’oreal Paris Middle East via Instagram and Facebook

10 thoughts on “Review of the L’oreal Elvive Extraordinary Oil Shampoo /Conditioner /Oil-replacement

  1. I’m using Garnier at the moment and I’m totally happy with it and in future if I change my mind, then I would definitely pop onto these products as they sell at a very great affordable price and the quality is also so good as expected.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m using the Herbal Essences naked products (apparently sulphate free is good for curls) but I reckon I’ll be switching back to this Loreal one.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No I’ve never heard of that brand. Will have a look online as I don’t think they sell it in the shops I go to. Thanks for the tip :

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “Scare little children” lol! I have been using this hair mask from Shea Moisture (Manuka honey intensive hydration hair masque) as a conditioner, mask and leave-in conditioner and it has helped my hair a lot! I never really had a shampoo/conditioner make a noticeable difference in my hair except for the Tigi Recovery ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

