Vegan skincare ? – Derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser / Refining scrub review

Derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser / Refining scrub review
Derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser / Refining scrub

While I was browsing around Boots pharmacy (finding a new product or brand makes me so happy :D), I spotted Derma e – a brand that’s quite new to U.A.E. I’ve seen some glowing reviews about the brand’s Scar Gel on Instagram so I was quite intrigued by their products (though I wasn’t sure if the gel would work on my 10-year-old acne scars!).

A few months later I got the opportunity to meet the two lovely ladies behind the marketing team of derma e – Deema and Natasha. After a very informative chat about the brand and it’s products, I was given a couple of products to try – the Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser & scrub and some samples of their famous scar gel.

The cleanser and scrub duo are great for people with normal to oily skin and both contain a mild form of vitamin A – Retinyl Palmitate. Which will not irritate the skin or make it dry and flaky.

derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser with Papaya

derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser with Papaya review
derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser with Papaya

A blend of gentle but effective exfoliating ingredients (Vitamin A/ Glycolic Acid/Papaya) help promote the skin renewal process while Sea Kelp and Horsetail helps to sooth and soften the skin.

The first thing I noticed about this clear gel cleanser is it’s lovely floral scent. It produces a lovely, rich lather (you only need a pea sized amount) and is very gentle on the skin (no stinging or tingly sensation).ย  The lather washes off quickly without any residue.ย  After I rinsed my face was left unbelievably soft ! So soft that I even bugged my husband to feel it ๐Ÿ™‚

This gentle cleanser did a great job of removing the excess oil from my face without over drying it.ย  It won’t remove long wear foundations like Revlon Colorstay but it did do a great job of washing off my regular BB cream (I always make sure to use a makeup remover like Bioderma Sensibio whenever I wear foundation).

As someone who has oily, acne prone skin my skin has never been soft or smooth. But after using this regularly (twice a day at night), my face feels quite soft and my skin looks more refined. While I do have a few fine lines on my forehead, I don’t have any deep wrinkles yet (fingers crossed). And after using it for around 1 1/2 months I cannot attest to its wrinkle smoothing properties yet.

The cleanser comes in a 175ml pump bottle and costs AED115. While it might seem a little expensive to some, remember that a bottle will last you a long time (there’s still more than 3/4 left in my bottle).

derma e Refining Vitamin A and Glycolic Scrub

derma e Refining Vitamin A and Glycolic Scrub review
derma e Refining Vitamin A and Glycolic Scrub

This scrub is the sophisticated sister of the St.Ives Apricot Scrub and is suitable for all skin types ! The Apricot seeds in this scrub is powdered and much more gentle on the face. Just like the cleanser it contains Vitamin A, Glycolic Acid, Papaya plus a few more additional ingredients like Vitamin E & C-Ester.

The scrub is very creamy and is so gentle on my face. I hardly feel the Apricot particles on my skin. After using the scrub my skin is left glowing and moisturized. I use the scrub twice a week at night and follow-up with a facial oil. A little tip – this makes an excellent body scrub too.

This scrub is specially good if you are looking for an environmental friendly alternative to all the scrubs out there with micro-beads (because those beads are made of plastic and doesn’t decay, they can harm marine life in lakes and seas).

The Refining scrub comes in a 113g tube and costs AED110. And just like the cleanser, the scrub will last you a long time.

I am quite impressed with these two products and I am thinking of trying a few more products from their Vitamin A range ! I will do another post on the brand’s scar gel and whether it managed to help my skin in some way so keep an eye out for that.

All derma e products are 100% vegan and free of parabens, phthalate, GMO’s, gluten, sodium lauryl sulfate, petrolatum, mineral oils and dyes.ย  And they are one of those lovely companies that don’t test on animals.

derma e products are available in Boots, Bin Sina and Super care Pharmacies in the U.A.E.

Have you used any derma e products ? Would love to hear what you thought about their products so please do leave a comment.

Thank you so much for reading and have a lovely weekend !

Related information

Follow derma e middle east on Instagram to stay up to date with their new releasesย (click here)

To find out more on these products and their ingredients click here

6 thoughts on “Vegan skincare ? – Derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic cleanser / Refining scrub review

Leave a Reply

