A sunscreen that’s organic and good for you – Herbline Essentials SPF 40 Sunscreen Lotion Review

Herbaline Essentials SPF 40 sunscreen lotion review
Herbaline Essentials SPF 40 sunscreen lotion – for face & body

When living in a country that has sunny weather every day of the year, sunscreen is an absolutely essential.

If you have acne scars like mine wearing sunscreen is a must as exposure to the sun can further darken the scars and make them very harder to fade.

Some sunscreens can get very greasy on my face and causes blocked pores and acne. After a lot of trial and error I’ve realised that my skin responds better to sunscreens with Zinc Oxide (also know as physical sunscreens) or oil-free sunscreens. The Zinc absorbs excess oil and has a calming effect on my pimples. I can even wear it over inflamed cystic acne and not worry about irritating my skin. The Zinc also has a primer like effect on skin, providing a great base for foundation.

Herbline essentials SPF 40 Sunscreen Lotion Review
Herbline essentials SPF 40 Sunscreen Lotion Review

Herbline essentials is a popular brand in the Middle East that offers Ayurveda based skin, hair and body care products. Though I have not tried any of their products before I was quite glad when I saw that one of the ingredients in this sunscreen lotion (face & body) was Zinc Oxide. This sunscreen lotion is 100% organic and is free from parabens and paraffin (no mineral oil or waxes ).

The ingredients of this sunscreen are spring water, Coco palm wax, Almond oil, Jojoba oil, Glycerrhiza, Rosemary oil, Carrot seed oil, Avocado oil, Wheat germ oil, Indian madder, Liquorice, Lactic acid, Zinc oxide, Natural fragrance and phenoxyethanol.

I have never tried a natural sunscreen before so I did not know what to expect. The lotion is white, with a pleasant herbal scent (rosemary ?). Even though there’s a lot of oils in the ingredient list, the texture was amazingly light. It absorbed within seconds and left my face quite matte (and without that annoying white cast) . It moisturised my face pretty well and wore well under foundation without causing any greasiness.

Herbline Essentials SPF 40 sunscreen lotion review
The lotion before blending
Herbline essentials SPF 40 sunscreen lotion review
After it’s blended, the lotion absorbs quickly without any shine or white cast

Since getting this last month, I wore this continuously on my face and body and so far it has not given me any pimples or blocked pores (fingers crossed !). I used this without any moisturiser underneath as I’ve felt the lotion gave enough moisture on it’s own. Dubai is going through a major heat wave and even with the 50 Celsius heat it did not cause my skin to be sticky. And it is water resistant so another plus!

Glycerrhiza, Liquorice and Lactic acid has the ability to lighten skin so I hope this might help fade my post acne pigmentation. I am planning to do a post on my skin care routine and will update you if there are any changes in my skin.

If you are looking for a good, natural sunscreen I would say give this a try. The lotion costs 119AED for 120ml and would last 2-3 months depending on your usage. All Herbline essentials products are cruelty free, 100% organic and is available in leading pharmacies across the Middle East.

I would love to know what your favorite natural sunscreen product/brand is, so please do leave a comment. And thanks a lot for reading !

Related links

To find out more about Herbline essentials products and their online store click here

9 thoughts on “A sunscreen that’s organic and good for you – Herbline Essentials SPF 40 Sunscreen Lotion Review

Leave a Reply

