Tea tree to the rescue – The Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask Review

The Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask
The Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask

Living in a hot,desert country and having very oily face is a recipe for disaster. No matter what I use( primer, foundation), at the end of a long day my face ends up resembling a flashing disco ball ! And a oil soaked face always lead to acne.

One of the best ways I know how to control the acne and the oil Β is to use a face mask twice or thrice a week.Β  I have about 3-4 masks that I use in rotation, depending the state of my face.

_20150418_183820[1]
The Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask
This is a light green, minty smelling face mask with a fluffy almost whipped cream texture. The ingredients including Menthol, Tamanu oil, Lemon Tea Tree oil and organic Tea Tree oil are supposed to instantly cool the skin and remove impurities.

I gotta say out of the whole tea tree range the blemish fade lotion and this mask are my absolute favorites. During the blistering Dubai summer, this is such a pleasure to use. The creamy texture is like putting whipped avocado on your face and it cools my face instantly. The nice thing about this mask is that although it has that thick, creamy feeling of a mud mask it does not harden as it dries. So, no more waiting around with a cracked up face mask !

I start with washing my face with the Body Shop foaming cleanser and then I steam my face for about 5 minutes.Β  I apply the mask to a slightly damp face and leave it for around half and hour and take it off with a moistened cotton pad. Afterwards I follow up with the blemish fade night lotion (I use it at night).

I think it does a nice job of drawing out excess oils from my face and soothing and healing minor breakouts. This is specially refreshing after a long day in the sun. Though it won’t do much for cystic acne except ease up the itching and the pain a little.

I think this mask will suite most skin types except really dry or sensitive ones (menthol might irritate). Do not expect this mask to perform a miracle on your acne (just like the rest of the tea tree range). It’s a good, basic mask that’s great at sucking the excess oils out of your pores.

The Body Shop Tea Tree mask comes in a 100ml pot with a screw-top lid. I have been using this for about 6 months and there’s more than 3/4 left in the pot. Not a bad deal for just 38AED(10Pounds).

Thanks a lot for reading, and I would love to know what your favourite masks are…

Relevant links..

http://www.thebodyshop.co.uk/shop-by-range/tea-tree/tea-tree-face-mask.aspx

https://www.facebook.com/thebodyshopUAE?fref=ts

14 thoughts on “Tea tree to the rescue – The Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask Review

  1. hi there…. i tried the tea tree range from body shop too but i dont feel its done any wonders for me.. actually i have acne prone skin and the lady in the shop advised me this range plus i did tell her that my skin do tends to dry out and becomes patchy and after reading ur review i guess it wasnt a good choice of range.. what do u think? thanks for the review!

    Like

    1. Hey Tabuam, thanks for commenting. If you have a underlying condition like mine this won’t be a cure for acne. I feel this is best used with some thing that contains a more powerful acne medicine like Benzoyl Peroxide.. And it’s better to see a doctor if you have cystic acne.
      If your skin is drying out because of the medication or the Tea Tree range try using a facial oil every other day at night. That might help..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For me, the best mask I have used for acne is Bentonite Clay. I even did a blog post in it a while back. Though it does dry on the face, it is awesome at removing excess oils and reducing acne. Since it comes in powdered clay form, you mix it yourself which offers some control over ingredients that might be too harsh. For example, I mix it with apple cider vinegar or a 50/50 mix of ACV and water, but it can be mixed with just water. Look into it, a whole pound tub is like $12 (US).

    Like

    1. Many thanks for the suggestion 😊I know Lush’s mask of magnaminty has bentonite and it was quite good. But it’s a bit expensive here. It’s hard to find the pure stuff here and many don’t ship to UAE. But I’ll keep an eye out for it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmmm…how about Milk of Magnesia? It doesn’t necessarily fight acne but it is very good at controlling oils. You can wear it as a mask or even use it as a primer. Have you tried that?

        Like

  3. I love the vitamin C exfoliation product Body Shop makes. Haven’t tried this mask. Will try!! I did buy the Bouncy mask and I feel like it doesn’t do anything but maybe it would for someone else. For me… 30.00 bye bye.

    Like

    1. I think you mean the exfoliating powder? I have used it too and like it.
      Can you believe the bouncy mask is old out in some of their Dubai stores. It’s 100AED here, I really didn’t want to spend that much on a mask without trying It out first..

      Like

      1. WOW really? So 100AED is about the same as they sell it for in the US. I think it was 30 USD. I swear I feel it does nothing. So disappointed.

        There is a Vitamin C exfoliation product that I believe is new. It’s a paste or a cream. I thought it was really nice but for years I’ve used this 4.00 (15AED) Apricot Scrub by St Ives and I swear it’s great.

        Like

      2. Yeah, the exchange rate is 3.68 something 😭 Good to know. There are some who are raving about it ..
        I’ve used that too, that was one of my favorite products when I was a teen but after I got sick, it stopped working. Now I use it as a body scrub..

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for commenting 😊
      Have you tried it Renu? It’s very gentle. Or you can ask the Body Shop staff to recommend one more suited for your skin type..
      You are lucky to have normal skin! I’ve heard good things about the Peter Thomas Roth cucumber mask (available in Sephora). Hope this helps..

      Like

Leave a Reply

